Posted by: Jeff Rose | October 21, 2008

Seriously……It’s Just a Straw

Anybody else have those little pet peeves that you just can’t get over.  For the most part, I’m a pretty calm and collected dude? I don’t get easily annoyed and roll along with the best of them.  But there is one thing that gets underneath my skin, and I just experienced it again today.

Ever since I moved to my new office on the west side of town, my lunch options have greatly diminished.  One of those lackluster lunch stops is the can never go wrong Mickie D’s.  To my luck, this has to be the worst ran McDonald’s I’ve ever been to.  There is always a line 15 cars deep and I will have hummed along to at least 5 top 40 radio hits by the time I get my food.  And that’s not the best part.  On almost every other occasion, when I arrive back to the office to eat and enjoy my Diet Coke, I dig into the bag to find no straw.  For me, drinking a fountain soda with no straw is like a happy meal with no toy.  It’s like chicken nuggets with no sweet and sour sauce.  It’s like ordering a cheeseburger with no onions and getting it with onions only.  Man, I get worked up just thinking about it.

Did You Double Check?

Now, I’ve gotten better of double checking that the straw is included.  There have been several times where I’ve saved further frustration for doing this.  But it only happens at this McDonald’s.  Never had the same incident anywhere else.  Going today for lunch was no exception.

I arrived to the food pickup window when I saw the McDonald’s worker walk out a drive-thru order to the car pulled off to the side in front of me.  Once the driver received their food, I noticed they did not drive off.  Shortly later, the same girl walked out again to deliver, guess what?…….A straw!  They forgot it again!  I couldn’t believe it.  At least now I know that I am not the only one.

Tired of Singing

When I finally got my food from the same girl, (I’m on song six by this point) I double checked to make sure I got the dressing for the salad I requested.  That was good.  I then checked for the straw.  They couldn’t do it again could they?  I mean, c’mon.  She just had forgotten the order in front of me so surely they would remember, right? Nope.  No frickin straw.  Is it that hard?  It’s a straw for peep’s sake!

And here’s the kicker.  Once I get back to the office to eat my salad and enjoy my Diet Coke through my straw, I realized they didn’t give me a fork!  Is this my luck or what.  Seriously, it’s just a fork!

Responses

  1. LOL… I needed a laugh so thanks for this post! It’s good to know I’m not the only one who has occasional issues at the drive through, however apparently not as many issues as you seem to be having.

    Maybe it’s time to start brown bagging your lunch each day? 😀

  2. […] Previously I had shared my experience with McDonald’s and their inability to provide straws through the drive thru.  Well, since I’m still stuck on the west side of town and that being one of my only lunch […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

